Fakebook and the technological sins..

I was lucky to grow up in the generation of the turning point in technology.

I know life without the shit fight of social media, play station, mobile phones and crappy but sometimes helpful sat nav (I end up more lost using the bitch).

We use to play until the street lights came on, mum only had to worry about the dirty weirdos potentially roaming the street, not the predators online.

We were a safer generation, we knew the value of earning a buck in hosting our own car wash on a Sunday afternoon.. climbing trees and riding bikes!

Yeah that’s until Ericsson created these trendy little flip phones in all different colours.. mum got me a colbolt blue one on a plan from telechoice phone shop in Maroubra Junction.

I was in year 7, and absolutely had to have it!

I took it to school the next day and some moles stole it from my bag when I was in class (hated high school, don’t get me started on the bullying I copped).

Anyway, thankfully mum was sucked into phone insurance and I got a replacement mustard colour one (so fancy) with about $900 a month in bills, I was soon put on a restricted plan where only people could only call me.

That was as fancy as shit got in my day.. snake game came a little later, standard in the good old Nokia and text messages were in.

Fast forward 20 or so years later and every single thing you will ever need is at your finger tips.. in fact Jase and I looked at a fridge the other day that did our shopping for us and played our fav tunes.

Toilet seats can pleasure you sexually and you can ruin your relationship in seconds by re-connecting with an ex on facey!

We wake up every morning and before we’ve even said hi to each other we’ve been on our phones for 20 mins.

You don’t have to wonder what impact technology has on your relationship.. you can see it! But just like those god awful ciggie packets with fucked up toes, you pay no attention and suck back on a death stick and continue on with life.

One sacrifice and I say this with a stupid grin on my face (limiting social media, has become a sacrifice) imagine the argument “I gave up Facebook for you”!!! But one promise Jase and I made to each other was less time on our phones more time with each other.

Seems easy in theory until one of us picks up our phone and the other gets the shits! My hubby suffers from what I’ve diagnosed as “phone use delusion” according to him he is never on it… dude do your sports bets place themselves? You hired someone to post that selfie??

I totally admit I’m addicted.. I actually generally have an addiction to my phone and it’s honestly caused more friction in my life than anything else and for some sick reason I can’t stop.

All of it’s bullshit.. it’s fakebook! My cat isn’t silky and fluffy always sleeping on my beautiful new reading chair..

He stinks and is scruffy.. I have to pay some poor bastard to groom him and the twat has clawed the crap out of my nice furniture!

My child is Denis the menace we don’t have a perfect family, we fight and argue and I sure as shit don’t wake up with my eye brows perfect and a fresh face.

My hubby has literally woken up one morning after I washed my hair at night and let it dry naturally and screamed!!

I shit you not.. he actually screamed with fear. “What the fuck, Jess” were his actual words!

Yeah i ain’t putting that on social for you to see!

People let you see what they want you to see..

I want you to see my decorating but I’m embarrassed about my smelly cat, I want to have a good relationship but I’m reluctant to give up time on my phone to achieve it.

Technology has caused so many issues where there weren’t any before.

It can be used for good too, i owe the opportunity to even write this blog to Instagram, I am able to help others and reach people I would never have dreamed of.

But in the same sense it can be evil, it’s broken me too.

So I guess, we have the power to make it our bitch or let it ruin us!

Moderation is key..

Don’t feel crappy because someone’s life looks Pristine and Perfect in social land.. chances are they are using wifi because their phone got cut off because they couldn’t afford their bill (but look at my Gucci shoes with a bee on them)!!

Give your relationships a chance and if you need to cut back do it.. the Gucci shoe lady will have posted a million things for you to catch up on when you do jump on line.

Most of all don’t forget to embrace things outside the digital world.. vivid was shit but it was nice to get out and get some fresh air with my family.

Life’s short.. read the blog, like the shoes, post the selfie but for fuck sake get out and smell the roses too!

Love to all x

Jess @jess.mkr

5 thoughts on “Fakebook and the technological sins..

  1. Yeeesss, love it!
    I actually deleted my facey a few months ago cuz I was at that point! I love that I grew up before all the shit there is now! Everyone spends so much time trying to make people believe their life is perfect rather than actually doing things to enhance it in reality. So much bullshit!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I’m over seeing wanky bullshit on social, perfect girls, perfect lives! Especially pregnancy.. women who mostly footballers wives who seemingly have it and a million dollars to fund it lol!

      Like

Leave a comment